Confirmed Speakers

We are glad to announce that the following experts have already confirmed to give a lecture during the 10th European Biophysics Congress:

Plenary Speakers


Marileen Dogterom
Technical University Delft, NL
Department of Bionanoscience
visit webpage


Christian Eggeling
University of Oxford, UK
Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine
Investigative Medicine Division, Nano-Immunology Group
visit webpage


Martin Fussenegger
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich, CH
Department of Biosystems Science and Engineering (D-BSSE)
visit webpage


Raymond Goldstein
University of Cambridge, UK
Centre for Mathematical Sciences
Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics
visit webpage


Angela M. Gronenborn
University of Pittsburgh, US
Department of Structural Biology
visit webpage


von Heijne

Gunnar von Heijne
Stockholm University, SE
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
visit webpage


J. Antoinette Killian - Avanti Polar Lipids / EBSA Award
Utrecht University, NL
Department of Chemistry, Membrane Biochemistry and Biophysics Group
visit webpage


Matthias Rief
Technical University Munich, DE
Department of Physics
E22 Chair – Protein Folding and Molecular Motors
visit webpage


Iva Tolić - EBSA Young Investigators’ Medal and Prize
Ruđer Bošković Institute, HR
Division of Molecular Biology
visit webpage



List of Symposia
Click expand to see speakers per symposium

S01 Protein Structure and Function expand
Chairs: Stefan Raunser, DE & Angela M. Gronenborn, US

S02 Synthetic Biology and Nanobiophysics expand
Chairs: Petra Schwille, DE & Hagan Bayley, UK

S03 Live Imaging and Optical Microscopy expand
Chairs: Jörg Langowski, DE & Elina M. Ikonen, FI

S04 Photobiophysics and Biological Electron and Proton Transfer expand
Chairs: Klaus Gerwert, DE & Pavol Miškovský, SK

S05 Molecular Motors expand
Chairs: Stefan Diez, DE & Iva Tolić, HR

S06 Supramolecular Assemblies and Aggregation expand
Chairs: Daniel Huster, DE & José Carrascosa, ES

S07 Membrane Structure and Domains expand
Chairs: Claudia Steinem, DE & John M. Seddon, UK

S08 Single Molecule Biophysics expand
Chairs: Daniel Müller, DE & Thomas Schmidt, NL


S09 Material Science in Biophysics expand
Chairs: Anne K. Meyer, DE & Erik Reimhult, AT

S10 Protein-Nucleic Acid Interactions expand
Chairs: Ulrich Nienhaus, DE & Anthony J. Wilkinson, UK

S11 New Methods for Computational Biophysics expand
Chairs: Gerhard Hummer, DE & Ilpo Vattulainen, FI

S12 Biospectroscopy, EPR and NMR expand
Chairs: Christian Griesinger, DE & Martin Blackledge, FR

S13 Biomolecular Simulation and Computational Biophysics expand
Chairs: Helmut Grubmüller, DE & Esteban Vöhringer-Martinez, CL

S14 Systems Biology and Multi-Cellular Systems expand
Chairs: Frank Jülicher, DE & Jacques Prost, FR

S15 Biologically Active Peptides expand
Chairs: Thomas Gutsmann, DE & Michel Lafleur, CA 

S16 Membranes and Vesicles expand
Chairs: Kai Simons, DE & Manuel Prieto, PT


S17 COST Symposium - Understanding Movement and Mechanism in Molecular Machines/CMST (COST Action CM1306) & Biophysics of GPCRs (GLISTEN - COST Action CM1207) expand
Chairs: Fraser MacMillan, UK & Anthony Watts, UK

S18 Protein Folding, Assembly and Stability expand
Chairs: Thomas Kiefhaber, DE & André Matagne, BE

S19 Channels and Transporters expand
Chairs: Reinhard Seifert, DE & Manuela M. Pereira, PT

S20 Cell Biophysics and Signalling expand
Chairs: Jochen Guck, DE & László Mátyus, HU

S21 Intrinsically Disordered Proteins expand
Chairs: Jörg Enderlein, DE & Hagen Hofmann, IL

S22 Protein-Lipid Interactions expand
Chairs: Anne-Claude Gavin, DE & Pavel Jungwirth, CZ

S23 Molecular Recognition expand
Chairs: Hans-Joachim Galla, DE & Fredrik Höök, SE

S24 Neurosciences expand
Chairs: Peter Hegemann, DE & Kristian Franze, UK

New and Notable expand
Chairs: Helmut Grubmüller, DE & Anthony Watts, UK


Important Dates

July 8, 2015
End of online registration - only on-site registration is possible

July 18 to 22, 2015
10th European Biophysics Congress

Click here for TimeZone Converter

Travel offers

Enjoy special prices of the Star Alliance Member Airlines. Click here for detailed information.

To further improve its service, Star Alliance kindly invites you to take part in a short survey


Benefit from the discounted rates of the Deutschen Bahn. Click here for more information.