

Minutes of the 10th General Assembly of EBSA July 17, 2007, Imperial College, Great Hall, Sherfield Building, London, UK

Present:

The Executive Committee

Erick Dufourc (President) Michael Ferenczi (Vice President), László Mátyus (Secretary), Anthony Wilkinson (Treasurer), Alberto Diaspro, Helmut Grubmüller, Antoinette Killian, Manuel Prieto

Bernat Soria (Past President) excused himself.

Delegates of the Member Societies (see attached list)

Agenda:

- 1. Adoption of the Agenda.
- 2. The Minutes from the 9th General Assembly in Montpellier
- 3. Report of the President.
- 4. Report of the Treasurer.
- 5. Election of the members of the Executive Committee.
- 6. New member society Armenia
- 7. Report on the European Biophysics Journal.
- 8. Next Congress: Genova – 2009
- 9. Presentations of the organizers of future congresses: Debrecen – 2011
- 10. Any other business

1. The General Assembly was opened by Prof. Erick Dufourc and the agenda was adopted.

2. The Minutes from the 9th General Assembly, August 29, 2005, Montpellier, France

The minutes were approved unanimously.

3. Report of the President

Prof. Erick Dufourc reported on the activities since 2005. There have been four meetings of the Executive Committee since the 9th General Assembly. Most of the work has been concerned about European Biophysics Congresses, with the European Biophysics Journal, and with the EBSA Prize. The Executive Committee awarded bursaries for the Congress, supported various schools and congresses. The main concern of the Executive Committee has been to increase the visibility of EBSA. The report of the President was approved unanimously.

4. Report of the Treasurer (Attached).

Anthony Wilkinson gave a detailed account on the financial situation of EBSA Current assets are \notin 275,317. The main source of income is from the European Biophysics Journal.

John Ladbury asked what EBSA is planning to do with the increasing amounts of money. Anthony Watts replied that the increasing amount is due to a better contract with Springer, and can cover extended activities of EBSA. Peter Bayley asked about the possible deficit of the Congress. Michael Ferenczi replied that the total budget of the Conference was about £300.000. The assets of EBSA gave an insurance for possible disasters or unexpected losses.

The accounts were approved unanimously.

5. Election of the members of the Executive Committee for the period 2007-2009

According to the Statutes of EBSA the current Vice-President, Prof. Michael Ferenczi, Great Britain, automatically becomes the new President, whereas Prof. Erick Dufourc, France the current President becomes Past-President.

The candidates for members had an opportunity to introduce themselves. Since Prof. Grzegorz Bartosz has not attended the Congress, he was introduced by the Polish representative, Dr. Maria Koter-Michalak.

The elections were by secret ballot. According to section 2.1 of the Rules the members of the Executive Committee and the voting delegates from the Member Organizations may vote. The votes were counted by Michel Kochoyan and Miklós Nyitrai, observers.

Prof. Alberto Diaspro, Italy was elected Vice-President with 26 votes. Prof. Antoinette Killian, Netherlands, was elected Secretary with 26 votes. Prof. Anthony Wilkinson, Great Britain, was re-elected Treasurer with 26 votes.

In the election of the officers of the Executive Committee Prof. Grzegorz Bartosz, Poland, received 3 votes Prof. Jose L. Carrascosa, Spain, received 11 votes Prof. Helmut Grubmüller, Germany, received 18 votes Prof. Manuel Prieto, Portugal, received 20 votes

According to the rules, Prof. Helmut Grubmüller and Prof. Manuel Prieto became members of the Executive Committee. Prof. Grzegorz Bartosz and Prof. Jose L. Carrascosa can be co-opted by the Executive Committee.

6. New Member Society

Armenia (All Armenian Biophysical Association) has applied for membership in EBSA. The executive committee recommended acceptance of the application. Prof. Armen A. Trchounian explained that the Society was established in 1994, and now has about 200 members. The General Assembly accepted the applications with 26 votes, and All Armenian Biophysical Association was accepted as new EBSA member. Since the society has not submitted their statutes yet, their membership becomes effective after EBSA had received their statutes.

7. Presentations of the organizers of future congresses

László Mátyus Vice-President of the Hungarian Biophysical Society gave presentation for the 2011 Congress to be held in Debrecen, Hungary. Claudio Soares confirmed that Portuguese Biophysical Society wants to host a Congress to be held in Lisboa in 2013. According to the Statutes the decision should be made by the Executive Committee.

8. Next Congress

Prof. Alberto Diaspro gave a short presentation on the current state of the organization of the 2009 Congress. The General Assembly invites the member societies for hosting the Congress in 2013 and 2015.

9. Report on European Biophysics Journal

The editor Prof. Anthony Watts, Oxford, provided a brief report on the current status of the Journal, as well as about plans for the future. The impact factor of the journal increases.

10. Any Other Business

Prof. Erick Dufourc gave a brief summary of the meeting with European Commissioner.

In an effort to increase the visibility of EBSA, Erick Dufourc suggested that the General Assembly could be called every year. Specialized subcommittees could be formed from the delegates, who could involve more people into the activities.

A directory of the members of the member societies could be established. The member societies have the data, but legal problems might hinder the publication of the directory.

Greta Pifat-Mrzljak (Croatia) reported about the international summer courses on biophysics. These courses are supported by EBSA, IUPAB and UNESCO.

The Meeting was closed at 15:40.

Prof. Erick Dufourc EBSA President László Mátyus EBSA Secretary

Attachments:

List of the delegates Treasurer's Report

List of Delegates of Member Societies of EBSA on the General Assembly

Country	Voting delegate
Albania	
Belarus	
Belgium	Yves Engelborghs
Croatia	Greta Pifat-Mrzljak
Czeck Republic	Vladimir Vetterl
Denmark	Lars Duelund
Egypt	
Finland	Katri Niemi
France	Catherine Royer
Germany	Ulrike Alexiev
Hungary	Sándor Damjanovich
Israel	
Italy	Cesare Usai
Italy Netherlands	Cesare Usai Antonie Visser
•	
Netherlands	Antonie Visser
Netherlands Norway	Antonie Visser Bjorn Torger Stokke
Netherlands Norway Poland	Antonie Visser Bjorn Torger Stokke Maria Koter-Michalak
Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal	Antonie Visser Bjorn Torger Stokke Maria Koter-Michalak Cláudio M. Soares
Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania	Antonie Visser Bjorn Torger Stokke Maria Koter-Michalak Cláudio M. Soares Eugenia Kovacs
Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Slovak Republic	Antonie Visser Bjorn Torger Stokke Maria Koter-Michalak Cláudio M. Soares Eugenia Kovacs Pavol Miskovsky
Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Slovak Republic Slovenia	Antonie Visser Bjorn Torger Stokke Maria Koter-Michalak Cláudio M. Soares Eugenia Kovacs Pavol Miskovsky Milan Brumen
Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Slovak Republic Slovenia Spain	Antonie Visser Bjorn Torger Stokke Maria Koter-Michalak Cláudio M. Soares Eugenia Kovacs Pavol Miskovsky Milan Brumen
Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Slovak Republic Slovenia Spain Sweden	Antonie Visser Bjorn Torger Stokke Maria Koter-Michalak Cláudio M. Soares Eugenia Kovacs Pavol Miskovsky Milan Brumen