

Minutes of the 9th General Assembly of EBSA August 29, 2005, 18:20-19:30 Montpellier, France

Present:

The Executive Committee

Bernat Soria (President) Erick Dufourc (Vice President), Heinz Rüterjans (Past President), László Mátyus (Secretary), Anthony Wilkinson (Treasurer), Giuliano Colombetti, Anthony Watts, Michel Kochoyan (President of the Organizing Committee)

Delegates of the Member Societies (see attached list)

Agenda:

- 1. Adoption of the Agenda.
- 2. The Minutes from the 8th General Assembly in Alicante
- 3. Report of the President
- 4. Report of the Treasurer
- 5. Modification of the Statutes
 Point 2.3 should be modified from:

"The Executive Committee shall consist of up to six voting members drawn from different member societies where possible, and including the following officers: President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The Vice-President will be the president for the next term. The President and the Vice-President cannot be elected for a following term. All other members of the Executive Committee shall serve for a single term, being eligible for re-election, but shall generally serve two consecutive terms at most."

to:

"The Executive Committee shall consist of up to **eight** voting members drawn from different member societies where possible, and including the following officers: President, Vice-President, **Past-President**, Secretary, Treasurer and **Managing Editor of EBJ**. The Vice-President will be the president for the next term. The President and the Vice-President cannot be elected for a following term. All other members of the Executive Committee shall serve for a single term, being eligible for re-election, but shall generally serve **not more than three** consecutive terms at most."

- 6. Election of the members of the Executive Committee
- 7. New member societies Finland, Slovakia
- 8. Presentations of the organizers of future congresses

Genoa – 2009 Lisbon – 2009

9. Next Congress

London - 2007

- 10. Report on the European Biophysics Journal
- 11. Any other business
- 1. The General Assembly was opened by Prof. Bernat Soria and the agenda was adopted.
- 2. The Minutes from the 8th General Assembly, July 7, 2003, Alicante, Spain The minutes were approved.

3. Report of the President

Prof. Bernat Soria reported on the activities since 2003. There have been five meetings of the Executive Committee since the 8th General Assembly. Most of the work has been concerned about European Biophysics Congresses, with the European Biophysics Journal, and with the EBSA Prize. The report of the President was approved unanimously.

4. Report of the Treasurer (Attached).

Current assets (as of March 31) are £109,009 (€159993). The main source of income is from the European Biophysics Journal. The accounts were approved unanimously.

5. Modification of the Statutes

Point 2.3 should be modified from:

"The Executive Committee shall consist of up to six voting members drawn from different member societies where possible, and including the following officers: President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The Vice-President will be the president for the next term. The President and the Vice-President cannot be elected for a following term. All other members of the Executive Committee shall serve for a single term, being eligible for re-election, but shall generally serve two consecutive terms at most."

to:

"The Executive Committee shall consist of up to **eight** voting members drawn from different member societies where possible, and including the following officers: President, Vice-President, **Past-President**, Secretary, Treasurer and **Managing Editor of EBJ**. The Vice-President will be the president for the next term. The President and the Vice-President cannot be elected for a following term. All other members of the Executive Committee shall serve for a single term, being eligible for re-election, but shall generally serve **not more than three** consecutive terms at most."

The General Assembly accepted the changes with 23 votes.

6. Election of the members of the Executive Committee for the period 2005-2007

According to the Statutes of EBSA the current Vice-President, Prof. Erick Dufourc, France, automatically becomes the new President, whereas Prof. Bernat Soria, Spain, the current President becomes Past-President.

The elections were by secret ballot. According to section 2.1 of the Rules the members of the Executive Committee and the voting delegates from the Member Organizations may vote. The votes were counted by Gy. Panyi, observer.

Prof. Michael Ferenczi, France, was elected Vice-President with 23 votes.

Dr. László Mátyus, Hungary, was re-elected Secretary with 23 votes.

Prof. Anthony Wilkinson, Great Britain, was re-elected Treasurer with 23 votes.

In the election of the officers of the Executive Committee

Prof. Alberto Diaspro, Italy, received 23 votes

Prof. Manuel Prieto, Portugal, received 23 votes

7. New Member Societies

Finland (Societas Biochemica, Biophysica et Microbiologica Fenniae r.y) and Slovak Republic (Slovak Biophysical Society) have applied for membership in EBSA and submitted their statues. The executive committee recommended acceptance of the application. The General Assembly accepted both applications with 23 votes, and Societas Biochemica, Biophysica et Microbiologica Fenniae r.y and Slovak Biophysical Society were accepted as new EBSA members.

8. Presentations of the organizers of future congresses

The Italian Biophysical Society and the Portuguese Biophysical Society gave presentation for the 2009 Congress to be held in Genoa and Lisbon, respectively. According to the Statutes the decision should be made by the Executive Committee.

9. Next Congress

Prof. M. Ferenczi gave a short presentation on current state of the organization of the 2007 Congress. The General Assembly invites the member societies for hosting the Congress in 2011.

10. Report on European Biophysics Journal

The editor Prof. Anthony Watts, Oxford, provided a brief report on the current status of the Journal, as well as about plans for the future. The impact factor of journal increases. The appointment of a review editor will be considered in the future.

11. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

The Meeting was closed at 19:30, and Prof. Giuliano Colombetti, and Prof. Heinz Rüterjans, were thanked for their services on the Executive Committee.

Prof. Bernat Soria EBSA President László Mátyus EBSA Secretary

Attachments:

List of the delegates Treasurer's Report

List of Delegates of Member Societies of EBSA on the General Assembly

Representative

Albania

Belarus

Belgium Yves Engelborghs

Croatia Vesna Svetlicic

Czech Republic

Denmark

Egypt

France Daniel Lavalette

Germany Hans Joachim Galla

Hungary Pal Ormos

Israel Elisha Haas

Italy Silvia Morante

Netherlands

Norway Kristoffer Andersson

Poland Maria Koter Michalak

Portugal Claudio Soares

Romania Kovacs Eugenia

Slovenia

Spain Jose L. Carrascosa

Sweden Lennart Nilsson

Switzerland Horst Vogel

Ukraine

United Kingdom John Seddon