

Minutes of the 8th General Assembly of EBSA July 7, 2003, 12:30-13:30 Alicante, Spain

Present:

The Executive Committee

Heinz Rüterjans (President), Bernat Soria (Vice President), Paul Vigny (Past-President) Michael Ferenczi (Treasurer), László Mátyus (Secretary), Lennart Nilsson, Jean-Marc Lhoste, Giuliano Colombetti, Anthony Watts

Delegates of the Member Societies (see attached list)

Agenda:

- 1. Adoption of the Agenda
- 2. The Minutes of the 7th General Assembly in Munich, September 11, 2000
- 3. Report of the President
- 4. Report of the Secretary
- 5. Report of the Treasurer
- 6. Election of the members of the Executive Committee for the period 2003-2005
- 7. Modification of the Statutes

Point 2.3 will be modified: ".. normally two years and not more then three years.."

- 8. New member societies
 - a. Ukraine
 - b. Belarus
- 9. Report on European Biophysics Journal
- 10. Next Congresses
 - a. Montpellier 2005
 - b. London 2007
- 11. Presentations of the organizers
- 1. The General Assembly was opened by Prof. Heinz Rüterjans and the previously circulated agenda was adopted.
- 2. The Minutes from the 7th General Assembly in Munich, September 11, 2000 The minutes were approved.
- 3. Report of the President

Prof. Heinz Rüterjans reported on the activities since 2000. There have been six meetings of the Executive Committee since the 7th General Assembly. Most of the work has been concerned about European Biophysics Congresses, with the European Biophysics Journal, and with the EBSA Prize.

4. Report of the Secretary

The secretary distributed a written report about the activity of the Executive Committee.

5. Report of the Treasurer (Attached).

Current assets are £80,650.95 (€112,911.33 at 1.4 £€). The main source of income is from the European Biophysics Journal. The accounts were approved unanimously.

6. Election of the members of the Executive Committee for the period 2003-2005

According to the Rules of EBSA the current Vice-President, Prof. Bernat Soria, Spain, automatically becomes the new President.

The elections were by secret ballot with individual ballots for the posts of Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. According to section 2.1 of the Rules the members of the Executive Committee, the Past President and the voting delegates from the Member Organizations may vote. The votes were counted by M. Ferenczi and H. Rüterjans.

Prof. Erick Dufourc, France, was elected Vice-President with 21 votes.

Dr. László Mátyus, Hungary, was re-elected Secretary with 19 votes.

Prof. Anthony Wilkinson, Great Britain, was elected Treasurer with 19 votes.

In the election of the officers of the Executive Committee

Prof. Giuliano Colombetti, Italy, received 19 votes

Jean-Marc Lhoste and Anthony Watts will be co-opted. Since only one nomination has arrived from member societies, one place in the Executive Committee will remain open.

7. Modification of the Statutes

According to the proposal of the Executive Committee Point 2.3 would be modified: ".. normally two years and not more then three years.."

The participants after a short discussion accepted the change of the statutes with 14 votes for and 4 votes against. During the discussion Prof. Fritz Parak raised concerns about the shorter period of the Congresses. The delegates of France and Spain supported the change in the interval between the Congresses.

8. New Member Societies.

The Ukrainian Biophysical Society and the Belarusian Society for Photobiologists and Biophysicists have applied for membership in EBSA and submitted their statues. The executive committee recommended acceptance of the application, and the Ukrainian Biophysical Society and the Belarusian Society for Photobiologists and Biophysicists were accepted as a new EBSA member.

9. Report on European Biophysics Journal

The editor Prof. Anthony Watts, Oxford, provided a brief report on the current status of the Journal, as well as about plans for the future.

10. Next Congresses

The General Assembly accepted unanimously that the 6th European Biophysics Congress will be held in London in 2007. Prof. M. Ferenczi gave a short presentation on the 2007 Congress. The General Assembly invites the member societies for hosting the Congress in 2009.

11. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

The Meeting was closed at 13:30, and Prof. Peter Bayley, Prof. Michael Ferenczi, Prof. Lennart Nilsson and Prof. Paul Vigny were thanked for their services on the Executive Committee.

Prof. Heinz Rüterjans EBSA President László Mátyus EBSA Secretary

Attachments:

List of the delegates Treasurer's Report